Author Topic: Anything about Doom a new user should know  (Read 2185 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

doom3xbox

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 92
  • Karma: +1/-2
  • Doom Newbie
    • View Profile
Re: Anything about Doom a new user should know
« Reply #60 on: July 26, 2016, 06:51:58 AM »
Well this is the first model for Doom 3. I have used the game engine, so I recognise the weight element. But I haven't touched on the weight painting side of this.

Well, I had tried painting it all blue.

208 vertices don't have deformed weights is the error.

motorsep

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 972
  • Karma: +74/-128
  • Artist
    • View Profile
    • Kot in Action Creative Artel
Re: Anything about Doom a new user should know
« Reply #61 on: July 26, 2016, 08:00:55 AM »
Didn't it occur to you that mesh has to be deformed by bones and thus have weights  (deformations)?

Hint: weights on mesh patented to Armature have to have vertex groups and weights that are > 0.0 (notblue)

doom3xbox

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 92
  • Karma: +1/-2
  • Doom Newbie
    • View Profile
Re: Anything about Doom a new user should know
« Reply #62 on: July 26, 2016, 11:31:03 AM »
The skeleton is only animated at the legs of the object. Does that make any difference concerning the rest of it that doesn't animate?

motorsep

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 972
  • Karma: +74/-128
  • Artist
    • View Profile
    • Kot in Action Creative Artel
Re: Anything about Doom a new user should know
« Reply #63 on: July 26, 2016, 11:55:30 AM »
The skeleton is only animated at the legs of the object. Does that make any difference concerning the rest of it that doesn't animate?

While it might not animate anything else, mesh should have weights as if whole model will be animated.

That's why we keep suggesting to learn and understand character creation pipeline in Blender before even attempting to export into Doom 3.

You model mesh, then rig it (make bones and weights) in T-pose (or A-pose).  Then you can animate legs and torso separately, and export different anims.

Doom 3 takes md5mesh (mesh + bones) and then applies md5anims. Md5anims contain all bones, but only specific animation frames.

Blender's addon needs to export all bones, mesh and corresponding weights. So if you don't have weights set properly, it won't export. Even if it would export, Doom 3 wouldn't load model/anims or crash.

doom3xbox

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 92
  • Karma: +1/-2
  • Doom Newbie
    • View Profile
Re: Anything about Doom a new user should know
« Reply #64 on: July 26, 2016, 12:14:17 PM »
I tried another search on youtube, the only change I can see and what isn't in the one I'm editing, is that the examples on youtube have different colours of red, blue and green.

That was why i released the file for somebody to try it out for me. I just get fed up thinking about it.