Author Topic: building a devkit for GPL  (Read 886 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

anartist

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
  • Karma: +1/-0
  • Doom Newbie
    • View Profile
building a devkit for GPL
« on: May 27, 2016, 02:42:24 PM »
using the gpl D3 engine to build a devkit for lin/win/osx
brendan made a starter kit that was too stripped down
making one with system options gui, basic hud, player char, basic set of rooms
should be about 60 meg total in the end + some dox tuts
got my base down to 27 meg zipped

I'll post some stuff and questions in another forum thread
G'day y'all

The Happy Friar

  • Happy Happy Joy Joy
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 865
  • Karma: +42/-4
  • Semi-Newbie.
    • View Profile
    • EarthQuake
Re: building a devkit for GPL
« Reply #1 on: May 28, 2016, 07:57:08 AM »
Brenden's was just so you could take the compiled GPL code & load it.  Are you thinking of an asset pack like the CED asset pack?

vladdrak

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 43
  • Karma: +0/-4
  • Doom Newbie
    • View Profile
Re: building a devkit for GPL
« Reply #2 on: May 28, 2016, 08:39:15 AM »
i asked earlier if BC's pack could be loaded to iod3 or dhem3 or any other port. i tried it but failed, which is odd. that means i would have to recompile the code with that minimal pack somehow included?

motorsep

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 972
  • Karma: +74/-128
  • Artist
    • View Profile
    • Kot in Action Creative Artel
Re: building a devkit for GPL
« Reply #3 on: May 28, 2016, 11:49:40 AM »
Storm Engine 2 just needs for someone to begin building min. assets pack.
« Last Edit: May 28, 2016, 01:43:58 PM by motorsep »

aphexjh

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 120
  • Karma: +7/-0
    • View Profile
    • hallowed mod
Re: building a devkit for GPL
« Reply #4 on: May 28, 2016, 04:38:17 PM »
Re min asset pack: what does this list look like? Do you have a trello for this or something?

motorsep

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 972
  • Karma: +74/-128
  • Artist
    • View Profile
    • Kot in Action Creative Artel
Re: building a devkit for GPL
« Reply #5 on: May 28, 2016, 05:03:40 PM »
Re min asset pack: what does this list look like? Do you have a trello for this or something?

Was this question to me or OP?

aphexjh

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 120
  • Karma: +7/-0
    • View Profile
    • hallowed mod
Re: building a devkit for GPL
« Reply #6 on: May 29, 2016, 12:44:20 AM »
Re min asset pack: what does this list look like? Do you have a trello for this or something?

Was this question to me or OP?
You or anyone, whoever wants to field it. If we include the ced assets, what is there left to make to make something like ss2 standalone?

motorsep

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 972
  • Karma: +74/-128
  • Artist
    • View Profile
    • Kot in Action Creative Artel
Re: building a devkit for GPL
« Reply #7 on: May 29, 2016, 12:58:22 AM »
Map, textures, materials, defs, scripts, etc. Basically run the engine and load some box map with player on it in debug from under MSVC. It will crash and you'l'll see what's missing.

That's how I did it.

aphexjh

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 120
  • Karma: +7/-0
    • View Profile
    • hallowed mod
Re: building a devkit for GPL
« Reply #8 on: May 29, 2016, 11:55:16 AM »
Is there anyway we could work on this as the base of a project, or somehow incorporate these tools:
https://github.com/jmarshall23/idtech4cdk


motorsep

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 972
  • Karma: +74/-128
  • Artist
    • View Profile
    • Kot in Action Creative Artel
Re: building a devkit for GPL
« Reply #9 on: May 29, 2016, 12:18:06 PM »
Is there anyway we could work on this as the base of a project, or somehow incorporate these tools:
https://github.com/jmarshall23/idtech4cdk


Why not to make new min. assets for Storm Engine 2 ?

For once, jmarshall23's projects never worked. I (and several other people) couldn't even build it. Then when we built his dmap port, it didn't work at all. That's why we had to build Storm Engine 2.

It's really that easy - make a box map for Doom 3 but with some blank material you can copy into SE2, get Doom 3's player model/anims and def, copy it into SE2. Load the map in debug mode via MSVC and see what crashes it. Copy it from Doom 3, rinse/repeat. Once you are at the point where you have no crash on loading the map, start re-making Doom 3 assets from scratch to make min. assets pack. There is no way around that.