id Tech Forums

id Tech 4 (Doom3/Prey/Q4) => id Tech 4 Level Editing => Topic started by: douglas quaid on March 06, 2015, 11:25:51 AM

Title: Rotating func_mover_amodel
Post by: douglas quaid on March 06, 2015, 11:25:51 AM
Good morning! :)

It's a while since I've been on the forums and I hope everyone's getting things done and helping fellow modders. I come to you with an enquiry about rotating models. It's probably the easiest fix but for the past few months I've only been focusing on blocking out the maps I'm working on for Total Recall, and because of this I usually forget how to script not long after learning, as my mind is else where on the project.

I'm right now working on the final level for TR (Yay!) and I'm trying to make use of the rotating rings from Enpro Plant.
func_mover_amodel (models/seneca/reactor/reactortube.ace)

My aim is to have Quaid running through a centrifuge while these models rotate around him and was just wondering what I need to make the model rotate on the axis shown below.

(http://s11.postimg.org/giaawevoz/enpro.jpg)

Thanks,

Quaid.
Title: Re: Rotating func_mover_amodel
Post by: Bladeghost on March 06, 2015, 03:42:10 PM
One thing you can try is right click menu and choose func_rotating and then select model from the entity inspector choose your model and then set your parameters. (speed direction) etc. see if that works. sometimes it has full collision and is a hindrance instead of what's intended (func_rotating's) tend to do that sometimes.
or use it in a level script and just set your model to rotate:
example:

$model.time(12);
$model.rotate('360 0 0');

perhaps use the while(1) if needed to loop the rotation.

these are some things you can try.
Title: Re: Rotating func_mover_amodel
Post by: The Happy Friar on March 06, 2015, 09:06:27 PM
You could also use a script to rotate a func_mover.