id Tech Forums

id Tech 4 (Doom3/Prey/Q4) => id Tech 4 Mods => Topic started by: VGames on June 17, 2015, 01:38:47 PM

Title: Adding Coop to Doom 3
Post by: VGames on June 17, 2015, 01:38:47 PM
What all would it take to add coop to Doom 3? Like what would need to be added to make the game playable for multiple players? Would maps need to be remade? Would a large amount of code need to be added to the SDK? What all would it take?
Title: Re: Adding Coop to Doom 3
Post by: motorsep on June 17, 2015, 02:21:08 PM
It would take _a lot_ of work to add coop.

MCS mod has it afaik, and it will be released soon. So perhaps you can wait for it and use the code.

Or wait for new Doom  ;)
Title: Re: Adding Coop to Doom 3
Post by: BielBdeLuna on June 17, 2015, 02:55:50 PM
I'm also interested in coop features, coop is death-match with monsters or does it involve something more complicated?
Title: Re: Adding Coop to Doom 3
Post by: VGames on June 17, 2015, 03:52:12 PM
Well I figured it would be a buttload of work. And I expected maps would have to be redone to allow multiple start points and cinematics would hVe to be taken into account too. But what about simple multiplayer maps redone with monster spawners? Has that been done?
Title: Re: Adding Coop to Doom 3
Post by: motorsep on June 17, 2015, 04:00:15 PM
Well I figured it would be a buttload of work. And I expected maps would have to be redone to allow multiple start points and cinematics would hVe to be taken into account too. But what about simple multiplayer maps redone with monster spawners? Has that been done?

Before worrying about maps and such, worry about code. That's where major chunk of work is.
Title: Re: Adding Coop to Doom 3
Post by: VGames on June 17, 2015, 05:46:43 PM
Understood.
Title: Re: Adding Coop to Doom 3
Post by: The Happy Friar on June 17, 2015, 08:59:58 PM
It's hard enough I'd say make maps for LMS instead of making your own.  :)

As far as I know no coop code has been released by anybody for Doom 3.  A bummer for future D3 players who will need to recompile for future OS's.  IE No D3 coop on a handheld in another 10 years like you can with Quake right now.  :)
Title: Re: Adding Coop to Doom 3
Post by: VGames on June 17, 2015, 09:35:14 PM
Well I've talked with the leader of the LMS team about making my mod compatible with his mod but it's been a while since I've heard from him. I need to drop him another line and see what's up with his programmer. That's where the trouble is coming from. He said he'd love to make my mod work with his but he had to get his programmer back into the mix. If it ever happens u can bet I'll be releasing my source which would include their coop code as long as they're ok with it. Which I'm sure they would be.
Title: Re: Adding Coop to Doom 3
Post by: motorsep on June 18, 2015, 12:36:10 AM
Last time I asked LMS guys to open their source, they plainly refused without stating any reasons. It makes no sense at all.
Title: Re: Adding Coop to Doom 3
Post by: VGames on June 18, 2015, 08:02:40 AM
Yeah that's not cool at all. No reason why they shouldn't do that. Would help the community out a lot. I hope they don't expect me not to release my source if they add their code to it to allow LMS compatibility.

But like I asked before would it be possible to make demons spawn in randomly in the original multiplayer maps that came with Doom 3 using an invisible monster spawner? Would that require new sdk code? I wouldnt think so. I would expect it to require map and script changes only.
Title: Re: Adding Coop to Doom 3
Post by: motorsep on June 18, 2015, 09:11:20 AM
Yeah that's not cool at all. No reason why they shouldn't do that. Would help the community out a lot. I hope they don't expect me not to release my source if they add their code to it to allow LMS compatibility.

But like I asked before would it be possible to make demons spawn in randomly in the original multiplayer maps that came with Doom 3 using an invisible monster spawner? Would that require new sdk code? I wouldnt think so. I would expect it to require map and script changes only.

No, it's not possible. Nothing is networked. Plus AI isn't designed for coop at all.
Title: Re: Adding Coop to Doom 3
Post by: VGames on June 18, 2015, 09:58:28 AM
Well that sucks.

Hey motor have u checked out my issue with adding a gravity gun feature to the soulcube? It's in the scripting section of this forum. I'd sure appreciate your help.
Title: Re: Adding Coop to Doom 3
Post by: BielBdeLuna on June 18, 2015, 11:20:23 AM
so it would be the mater of adding the "networking model" to the actor.cpp and ai.cpp (and other files in neo/ai/ folder)? or would involve something else?
Title: Re: Adding Coop to Doom 3
Post by: wintch on June 18, 2015, 11:21:25 AM
Yo do have coop for Doom3.
The only source code i found (http://www.moddb.com/mods/opencoop/downloads/opencoop-alpha-20)
My old merge with dhewm3 (https://www.assembla.com/spaces/dhewm3coop/wiki)

AI is not working so great (as motorsep mentioned), it just switches from one player to another when receives damage. Monsters may look at random target and death animations may fail sometimes, but it is working.
I tested it back in 2012 and with some minor tweaks (already done by oneofthe8devilz and/or it's team) you get decent coop gameplay
Title: Re: Adding Coop to Doom 3
Post by: motorsep on June 18, 2015, 11:45:57 AM
Yo do have coop for Doom3.
The only source code i found (http://www.moddb.com/mods/opencoop/downloads/opencoop-alpha-20)
My old merge with dhewm3 (https://www.assembla.com/spaces/dhewm3coop/wiki)

AI is not working so great (as motorsep mentioned), it just switches from one player to another when receives damage

Did you solve issues with missing heads and anims ? (I recall there were a several issues in the original source and I don't know if you solved it)
Title: Re: Adding Coop to Doom 3
Post by: wintch on June 18, 2015, 11:48:59 AM
Sorry, just updated my answer. No i didn't touched the original source, it was just a merge with dhewm3
p/s i don't remember having any issues with missing heads. Maybe since it was based on dhewm3 and not SDK/original Doom3, this just didn't happen to me
Title: Re: Adding Coop to Doom 3
Post by: EoceneMiacid on June 01, 2016, 07:31:40 PM
Are we starting to see the benefits of the open source philosophy yet?

There's so many cool Doom 3 projects out there, and so many of them are destined to die a slow and unmaintained death, stuck in the realm of 32-bit Windows forever, unable to be enjoyed by non-Windows users.

It's just frustrating to think that a popular feature such as co-op totally exists out there, and that the developer simply cannot be bothered :/

Pretty please, make your projects available for anyone to use and learn from. It's for the benefit of the whole community.
Title: Re: Adding Coop to Doom 3
Post by: vladdrak on June 01, 2016, 07:45:20 PM
grimm is the best doom 3 mod (since tdm went standalone) and it's open. i'm looking forward to make a mod in the vein of that game one day.
Title: Re: Adding Coop to Doom 3
Post by: EoceneMiacid on June 01, 2016, 07:54:47 PM
While it's certainly an impressive achievement, I have zero interest in medieval fantasy stuff.
Title: Re: Adding Coop to Doom 3
Post by: vladdrak on June 01, 2016, 08:04:32 PM
While it's certainly an impressive achievement, I have zero interest in medieval fantasy stuff.

it's not the theme i'm most interested in. more like platforming and different movement-related mechanics with constant environmental hazard, threat and traps and a gunplay closest to (modern) Quake. think of portal without the portal gun but with something else i haven't yet thought of. ::)
Title: Re: Adding Coop to Doom 3
Post by: motorsep on June 01, 2016, 08:30:30 PM
Are we starting to see the benefits of the open source philosophy yet?

Not really  ::)

It's just frustrating to think that a popular feature such as co-op totally exists out there, and that the developer simply cannot be bothered :/
Pretty please, make your projects available for anyone to use and learn from. It's for the benefit of the whole community.

You got that right. Hopefully he won't ask to be paid several thousand USD to be reimbursed for his troubles and releases it like any normal person would, especially that it's based on open source code (I don't care about old license - code was open to the public, and now is relicensed under GPL).
Title: Re: Adding Coop to Doom 3
Post by: aphexjh on June 02, 2016, 01:31:12 AM
I support the person who puts up the money to make something they have dreamed about come true. Especially if that person was told time and time again that there was no point, that Doom 3 was not meant to be multiplayer focused.

Would it be nice if he gave away something awesome, sure. Does he have to? Hell no.

I mean you can play mcs, its got all the stuff there for you. Really this person has invested in a product that is valuable, just because its hard to make money off of it right now doesnt mean that it should be free r&d for all. Sure Id gave doom 3 source out, but that was after they made lots of money on it. We aren't entitled to someone elses hard work for nothing.
Title: Re: Adding Coop to Doom 3
Post by: EoceneMiacid on June 02, 2016, 04:57:34 AM
I support the person who puts up the money to make something they have dreamed about come true. Especially if that person was told time and time again that there was no point, that Doom 3 was not meant to be multiplayer focused.

Would it be nice if he gave away something awesome, sure. Does he have to? Hell no.

I mean you can play mcs, its got all the stuff there for you. Really this person has invested in a product that is valuable, just because its hard to make money off of it right now doesnt mean that it should be free r&d for all. Sure Id gave doom 3 source out, but that was after they made lots of money on it. We aren't entitled to someone elses hard work for nothing.

You're probably right in the sense that we are not entitled to it, no. But it's still a backwards and selfish mentality, and ultimately, one that doesn't provide you with a single tangible benefit. Quite the contrary, you condemn the fruits of your labor to a restricted audience and a disposable, finite lifespan. Feel free to correct me if I'm wrong about this.

And, frankly, right now, MCS isn't any better. Sure, it may come with the promise that the source will be available someday, but until it's up on Github with build instructions, it's just one of countless other mods that's entirely unavailable to people not on the Windows platform.

And to prove I'm practicing what i'm preaching - https://github.com/RalfVB/SQEW-OS, which represents many, many hours of labor.
Title: Re: Adding Coop to Doom 3
Post by: The Happy Friar on June 02, 2016, 07:51:46 AM
"when I was a kid" just the fact someone took the time to create & give out free content was awesome enough.  I don't remember EVER feeling or reading that someone who released a mod/map/whatever "must give" anything they didn't want to.  I don't remember people upset at that either.  Gamers were more capitalist vs communist "back then" is my theory.
Title: Re: Adding Coop to Doom 3
Post by: VGames on June 02, 2016, 08:08:42 AM
Yeah nothing has to be shared. Sure it would be nice to have the source and build off of it but the game is there to play already. Heck u can even add to it if u want. And sorry if you're not a windows user. That's on u. Creators of anything don't have to make sure that their work is accessible to everybody. Honestly if my work doesn't reach everybody and if it's lifespan is shortened because of it I could care less. Because I'm making mods for fun and I'm making them for windows.
Title: Re: Adding Coop to Doom 3
Post by: oneofthe8devilz on June 02, 2016, 08:31:40 AM
I am noticing a rising interest in a coop focused idtech4 open source code project solution.

After quickly checking, all former links to the once publicly available opencoop source code (http://www.filedropper.com/oc-src) seem to have vanished or are broken.

I once created a coop source code "resurrection" thread back on the doom3world.org forum page which by now is defunct.

Today I have re-uploaded that source code (http://www.filedropper.com/oc-src) and while this may or may not be in consent with the original author "Nicemice", I am relaying the task of further developing, backing this code up and sharing it (on github and whatever places you see fit) to this community here, as I personally at this point in time won't perform further steps.

To download click THIS LINK (http://www.filedropper.com/oc-src) or head over to http://www.filedropper.com/oc-src

Happy idtech4 coop programming...
Title: Re: Adding Coop to Doom 3
Post by: EoceneMiacid on June 02, 2016, 09:47:55 AM
Yeah nothing has to be shared. Sure it would be nice to have the source and build off of it but the game is there to play already. Heck u can even add to it if u want. And sorry if you're not a windows user. That's on u. Creators of anything don't have to make sure that their work is accessible to everybody. Honestly if my work doesn't reach everybody and if it's lifespan is shortened because of it I could care less. Because I'm making mods for fun and I'm making them for windows.

That's definitely one of the dumbest things I've read the past few days.
First off, is it really that much trouble to write 'you' correctly? Are you really that incredibly busy that writing 'u' like some social media addicted teen girl makes any sort of difference?

Spelling nazism aside, your post just screams .. a lack of .. thought?
It also irks me that you're willing to participate in a thread called 'growing the community', but you seem to have disdain for that which would effectively grow the community.
'Yeah nothing has to be shared.' Were you stuck without oxygen too long during childbirth or something?...

Because people with this 'for me only, and then only Windows' mindset is one of the biggest contributing factors holding back the growth of this community.

It's smallminded. I bet you're in favor of the War On Drugs too?



Title: Re: Adding Coop to Doom 3
Post by: VGames on June 02, 2016, 09:59:49 AM
First off I'm at work so I'll take any shortcuts I want when typing on my phone.

Second u just got here so don't talk like you've contributed anything to this community. More then likely you'll fizzle away like so many others. Make something then u can have an opinion about what needs to be done about this community. Right now all I see is somebody trying and failing.
Title: Re: Adding Coop to Doom 3
Post by: EoceneMiacid on June 02, 2016, 10:40:15 AM
More then likely you'll fizzle away like so many others.

Not everyone is gifted with the patience to deal with retards.
Title: Re: Adding Coop to Doom 3
Post by: VGames on June 02, 2016, 10:56:07 AM
More like not everybody can stick with it. Make something small and then move up to something as ambitious as your goal. Cause at this point the only way it's gonna get done is if everybody here does the work for u. And I doubt any of us have tons of free time to tackle that right now. Especially since u haven't proven yourself yet.

About this coop source devilz, this is basic stuff right? No net code improvements right?
Title: Re: Adding Coop to Doom 3
Post by: motorsep on June 02, 2016, 11:05:50 AM
About this coop source devilz, this is basic stuff right? No net code improvements right?

Primitive coop mod, with some Quake 4 SDK injections and bunch of bugs. Zero networking improvement. So, even if someone gets it to work (wintch actually did for dhewm3) it will only be as bad as original Doom 3 + coop functionality.
Title: Re: Adding Coop to Doom 3
Post by: VGames on June 02, 2016, 11:26:05 AM
Ah ok. Thanks for the heads up.

But wait isn't this what openCoop and last man standing use or is their source bugless and does it contain better net code?
Title: Re: Adding Coop to Doom 3
Post by: motorsep on June 02, 2016, 11:45:18 AM
Ah ok. Thanks for the heads up.

But wait isn't this what openCoop and last man standing use or is their source bugless and does it contain better net code?

Afaik opencoop was initial step toward LMS coop and have very little in common (from my conversation with NiceMice). MCS suppose to have even better netcode than LMS, but we all know how the story goes.
Title: Re: Adding Coop to Doom 3
Post by: VGames on June 02, 2016, 11:51:47 AM
C'mon we all know that. Let's not go there again.

So this code is the worst of the worst and shouldn't be bothered with unless u plan on making serious improvements.
Title: Re: Adding Coop to Doom 3
Post by: motorsep on June 02, 2016, 12:06:59 PM
So this code is the worst of the worst and shouldn't be bothered with unless u plan on making serious improvements.

Well, I wouldn't say it's worst of the worst. It's a good starting point for someone who wants to add coop to Doom 3. If you take this code and make same thing in Doom 3 BFG codebase, you'll get robust networking and coop in Doom 3 BFG (probably as good as MCS).

Although Doom 3 BFG doesn't have multiplayer working. So you can't really run a server. Storm Engine 2 has multiplayer fixed to where server can run and clients can spawn on it, but it still needs some work done in order for it to be practical. Not sure if tr3b is interested in porting the fixes and making RBDoom 3 BFG multiplayer working (since only a handful of people will play it).