Author Topic: Adding Coop to Doom 3  (Read 3950 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

VGames

  • PD3 Beta Testers
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 756
  • Karma: +17/-69
    • View Profile
Adding Coop to Doom 3
« on: June 17, 2015, 01:38:47 PM »
What all would it take to add coop to Doom 3? Like what would need to be added to make the game playable for multiple players? Would maps need to be remade? Would a large amount of code need to be added to the SDK? What all would it take?
Get the latest on Perfected Doom 3 here - http://www.moddb.com/mods/perfected-doom-3-version-500

motorsep

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 975
  • Karma: +74/-128
  • Artist
    • View Profile
    • Kot in Action Creative Artel
Re: Adding Coop to Doom 3
« Reply #1 on: June 17, 2015, 02:21:08 PM »
It would take _a lot_ of work to add coop.

MCS mod has it afaik, and it will be released soon. So perhaps you can wait for it and use the code.

Or wait for new Doom  ;)

BielBdeLuna

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 242
  • Karma: +8/-20
  • Doom Newbie
    • View Profile
    • my Github repositories
Re: Adding Coop to Doom 3
« Reply #2 on: June 17, 2015, 02:55:50 PM »
I'm also interested in coop features, coop is death-match with monsters or does it involve something more complicated?

VGames

  • PD3 Beta Testers
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 756
  • Karma: +17/-69
    • View Profile
Re: Adding Coop to Doom 3
« Reply #3 on: June 17, 2015, 03:52:12 PM »
Well I figured it would be a buttload of work. And I expected maps would have to be redone to allow multiple start points and cinematics would hVe to be taken into account too. But what about simple multiplayer maps redone with monster spawners? Has that been done?
Get the latest on Perfected Doom 3 here - http://www.moddb.com/mods/perfected-doom-3-version-500

motorsep

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 975
  • Karma: +74/-128
  • Artist
    • View Profile
    • Kot in Action Creative Artel
Re: Adding Coop to Doom 3
« Reply #4 on: June 17, 2015, 04:00:15 PM »
Well I figured it would be a buttload of work. And I expected maps would have to be redone to allow multiple start points and cinematics would hVe to be taken into account too. But what about simple multiplayer maps redone with monster spawners? Has that been done?

Before worrying about maps and such, worry about code. That's where major chunk of work is.

VGames

  • PD3 Beta Testers
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 756
  • Karma: +17/-69
    • View Profile
Re: Adding Coop to Doom 3
« Reply #5 on: June 17, 2015, 05:46:43 PM »
Understood.
Get the latest on Perfected Doom 3 here - http://www.moddb.com/mods/perfected-doom-3-version-500

The Happy Friar

  • Happy Happy Joy Joy
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 873
  • Karma: +42/-4
  • Semi-Newbie.
    • View Profile
    • EarthQuake
Re: Adding Coop to Doom 3
« Reply #6 on: June 17, 2015, 08:59:58 PM »
It's hard enough I'd say make maps for LMS instead of making your own.  :)

As far as I know no coop code has been released by anybody for Doom 3.  A bummer for future D3 players who will need to recompile for future OS's.  IE No D3 coop on a handheld in another 10 years like you can with Quake right now.  :)

VGames

  • PD3 Beta Testers
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 756
  • Karma: +17/-69
    • View Profile
Re: Adding Coop to Doom 3
« Reply #7 on: June 17, 2015, 09:35:14 PM »
Well I've talked with the leader of the LMS team about making my mod compatible with his mod but it's been a while since I've heard from him. I need to drop him another line and see what's up with his programmer. That's where the trouble is coming from. He said he'd love to make my mod work with his but he had to get his programmer back into the mix. If it ever happens u can bet I'll be releasing my source which would include their coop code as long as they're ok with it. Which I'm sure they would be.
Get the latest on Perfected Doom 3 here - http://www.moddb.com/mods/perfected-doom-3-version-500

motorsep

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 975
  • Karma: +74/-128
  • Artist
    • View Profile
    • Kot in Action Creative Artel
Re: Adding Coop to Doom 3
« Reply #8 on: June 18, 2015, 12:36:10 AM »
Last time I asked LMS guys to open their source, they plainly refused without stating any reasons. It makes no sense at all.

VGames

  • PD3 Beta Testers
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 756
  • Karma: +17/-69
    • View Profile
Re: Adding Coop to Doom 3
« Reply #9 on: June 18, 2015, 08:02:40 AM »
Yeah that's not cool at all. No reason why they shouldn't do that. Would help the community out a lot. I hope they don't expect me not to release my source if they add their code to it to allow LMS compatibility.

But like I asked before would it be possible to make demons spawn in randomly in the original multiplayer maps that came with Doom 3 using an invisible monster spawner? Would that require new sdk code? I wouldnt think so. I would expect it to require map and script changes only.
« Last Edit: June 18, 2015, 08:07:41 AM by VGames »
Get the latest on Perfected Doom 3 here - http://www.moddb.com/mods/perfected-doom-3-version-500

motorsep

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 975
  • Karma: +74/-128
  • Artist
    • View Profile
    • Kot in Action Creative Artel
Re: Adding Coop to Doom 3
« Reply #10 on: June 18, 2015, 09:11:20 AM »
Yeah that's not cool at all. No reason why they shouldn't do that. Would help the community out a lot. I hope they don't expect me not to release my source if they add their code to it to allow LMS compatibility.

But like I asked before would it be possible to make demons spawn in randomly in the original multiplayer maps that came with Doom 3 using an invisible monster spawner? Would that require new sdk code? I wouldnt think so. I would expect it to require map and script changes only.

No, it's not possible. Nothing is networked. Plus AI isn't designed for coop at all.

VGames

  • PD3 Beta Testers
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 756
  • Karma: +17/-69
    • View Profile
Re: Adding Coop to Doom 3
« Reply #11 on: June 18, 2015, 09:58:28 AM »
Well that sucks.

Hey motor have u checked out my issue with adding a gravity gun feature to the soulcube? It's in the scripting section of this forum. I'd sure appreciate your help.
Get the latest on Perfected Doom 3 here - http://www.moddb.com/mods/perfected-doom-3-version-500

BielBdeLuna

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 242
  • Karma: +8/-20
  • Doom Newbie
    • View Profile
    • my Github repositories
Re: Adding Coop to Doom 3
« Reply #12 on: June 18, 2015, 11:20:23 AM »
so it would be the mater of adding the "networking model" to the actor.cpp and ai.cpp (and other files in neo/ai/ folder)? or would involve something else?

wintch

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 45
  • Karma: +2/-0
  • Doom Newbie
    • View Profile
Re: Adding Coop to Doom 3
« Reply #13 on: June 18, 2015, 11:21:25 AM »
Yo do have coop for Doom3.
The only source code i found
My old merge with dhewm3

AI is not working so great (as motorsep mentioned), it just switches from one player to another when receives damage. Monsters may look at random target and death animations may fail sometimes, but it is working.
I tested it back in 2012 and with some minor tweaks (already done by oneofthe8devilz and/or it's team) you get decent coop gameplay
« Last Edit: June 18, 2015, 11:46:04 AM by wintch »

motorsep

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 975
  • Karma: +74/-128
  • Artist
    • View Profile
    • Kot in Action Creative Artel
Re: Adding Coop to Doom 3
« Reply #14 on: June 18, 2015, 11:45:57 AM »
Yo do have coop for Doom3.
The only source code i found
My old merge with dhewm3

AI is not working so great (as motorsep mentioned), it just switches from one player to another when receives damage

Did you solve issues with missing heads and anims ? (I recall there were a several issues in the original source and I don't know if you solved it)