Author Topic: Hypercube - MP Map  (Read 1325 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

douglas quaid

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 88
  • Karma: +6/-8
  • Level Designer/Sound Designer
    • View Profile
    • Total Recall
Hypercube - MP Map
« on: February 20, 2016, 08:54:20 PM »
Hey guys,

I'm currently working on a new multiplayer map. Inspired by TRON, I wanted to get the grid match kind of feel using Doom 3, with tons of jumppads and weapons. There is a hollowed out rotating cube containing the megahealth in the center of the map which gives the player a safe room for firing out at enemies while taking little damage behind the glass windows of the cube. I'll have it done within a few days but my concern is the grids, which I hope work smoothly online. I've added a coliseum crowd cheering ambiance sound effect with some electronic music to boost the player experience which I think sounds cool. Here's some screenies of the map so tell me what you think... :D









« Last Edit: February 23, 2016, 10:57:45 AM by douglas quaid »
TOTAL RECALL - Singleplayer mod for Doom 3 starring Arnold Schwarzenegger
BLACKOUT - Free indie horror game based on the id Tech 4 engine

argoon

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 275
  • Karma: +21/-81
  • Doom Newbie
    • View Profile
Re: Hypercube - MP Map
« Reply #1 on: February 20, 2016, 09:15:33 PM »
What can i say looks fantastic. Needs some bloom tho. 

Btw how is your Total Recall mod going?

VGames

  • PD3 Beta Testers
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 757
  • Karma: +17/-69
    • View Profile
Re: Hypercube - MP Map
« Reply #2 on: February 20, 2016, 11:53:32 PM »
Insane!!

Definitely needs bloom.
Get the latest on Perfected Doom 3 here - http://www.moddb.com/mods/perfected-doom-3-version-500

douglas quaid

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 88
  • Karma: +6/-8
  • Level Designer/Sound Designer
    • View Profile
    • Total Recall
Re: Hypercube - MP Map
« Reply #3 on: February 22, 2016, 10:22:33 AM »
Thanks guys, but what is bloom and how is it achieved in D3? Total Recall is still in the works but motivation at the moment is an issue. It will pass though and then I can get cracking on it again. :D
TOTAL RECALL - Singleplayer mod for Doom 3 starring Arnold Schwarzenegger
BLACKOUT - Free indie horror game based on the id Tech 4 engine

VGames

  • PD3 Beta Testers
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 757
  • Karma: +17/-69
    • View Profile
Re: Hypercube - MP Map
« Reply #4 on: February 22, 2016, 10:48:01 AM »
You know the soft glow that you see in the Tron movies and games. Sikkmod has the feature. Will you be using Sikkmod?
Get the latest on Perfected Doom 3 here - http://www.moddb.com/mods/perfected-doom-3-version-500

douglas quaid

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 88
  • Karma: +6/-8
  • Level Designer/Sound Designer
    • View Profile
    • Total Recall
Re: Hypercube - MP Map
« Reply #5 on: February 23, 2016, 10:59:42 AM »
UPDATE: See opening post...

I'm having trouble getting the map to show up in the MP list. I'm not sure what the problem is as I've used the exact file paths as my other mp maps that work perfectly. Hope one of you gents can help.
TOTAL RECALL - Singleplayer mod for Doom 3 starring Arnold Schwarzenegger
BLACKOUT - Free indie horror game based on the id Tech 4 engine

aphexjh

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 122
  • Karma: +7/-0
    • View Profile
    • hallowed mod
Re: Hypercube - MP Map
« Reply #6 on: February 23, 2016, 11:49:16 AM »
you added the map to the .def? and also check that the map name in the .def is correct. I feel like I have had this problem before too.

douglas quaid

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 88
  • Karma: +6/-8
  • Level Designer/Sound Designer
    • View Profile
    • Total Recall
Re: Hypercube - MP Map
« Reply #7 on: February 23, 2016, 12:04:07 PM »
The map name is
Code: [Select]
dqdm4
The *pk4 file is named
Code: [Select]
dqdm4.pk4
The file path is
Code: [Select]
dqdm4.pk4/maps/game/mp/dqdm4.map this includes the *.proc and *.cm file.

The gui folder path is
Code: [Select]
guis/map/dqdm4.gui

The required lines in the gui file are...

Code: [Select]
windowDef BackgroundImage
{
rect 0,0,640,480
visible 1
background "guis/assets/splash/dqdm4"
matcolor 1,1,1,1
}
windowDef TextTitle
{
rect 16,447,610,30
visible 1
text "DQDM4 - HYPERCUBE"
font "fonts/micro"
textscale 0.4
forecolor 1,1,1,0
}

The guis folder also includes
Code: [Select]
assets/splash/dqdm4.tga
The tga splash image is 512 x 512.

The def file looks like this... (I've tried it without the 'size' code but still doesn't work)

Code: [Select]
mapDef game/mp/dqdm4 {
"name" "Hypercube"
"Deathmatch" "1"
"Team DM" "1"
"Last Man" "1"
"Tourney" "1"
"size0" "111003170"
"size1" "111003170"
"size2" "181057809"
"size3" "275655248"
}

TOTAL RECALL - Singleplayer mod for Doom 3 starring Arnold Schwarzenegger
BLACKOUT - Free indie horror game based on the id Tech 4 engine

tmm88

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 17
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • Doom Newbie
    • View Profile
Re: Hypercube - MP Map
« Reply #8 on: January 05, 2017, 09:26:43 AM »
looking for audio assets?