Author Topic: A question about Commando scaling  (Read 1215 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

spamclark15

  • id Enthusiast
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 97
  • Karma: +10/-3
  • A missile-launching skyscraper with goat legs.
    • View Profile
Re: A question about Commando scaling
« Reply #15 on: June 08, 2017, 10:16:23 PM »
Done with the animations. What will I need to do in the AF editor? I tried copying values that differed over from the tentacle commando AF but it didn't help much. Could you take a look at it?
« Last Edit: June 09, 2017, 12:30:12 AM by spamclark15 »

The Happy Friar

  • Happy Happy Joy Joy
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 894
  • Karma: +42/-4
  • Semi-Newbie.
    • View Profile
    • EarthQuake
Re: A question about Commando scaling
« Reply #16 on: June 10, 2017, 02:49:45 PM »
For some reason the origin on the exported pose you did is wrong for the AF pose.  That messes up the whole AF.  It looks good in Blender, just Doom 3 has it wrong.  :?

The md5anim's look ok.  Seems to be something with the AF I can't find yet.

spamclark15

  • id Enthusiast
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 97
  • Karma: +10/-3
  • A missile-launching skyscraper with goat legs.
    • View Profile
Re: A question about Commando scaling
« Reply #17 on: June 10, 2017, 06:47:53 PM »
Oh. Are there certains things that need to be done to the AF animation or preparation of md5 exports in general? It's perpelexing as the game plays the animations correctly but when it becomes a ragdoll it mangles the mesh.

The Happy Friar

  • Happy Happy Joy Joy
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 894
  • Karma: +42/-4
  • Semi-Newbie.
    • View Profile
    • EarthQuake
Re: A question about Commando scaling
« Reply #18 on: June 10, 2017, 08:33:34 PM »
The AF is used for ragdoll's, that's pretty much it (might be some other collision stuff to, not 100% sure any more).  Hence the ragdolls not working properly.

spamclark15

  • id Enthusiast
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 97
  • Karma: +10/-3
  • A missile-launching skyscraper with goat legs.
    • View Profile
Re: A question about Commando scaling
« Reply #19 on: June 11, 2017, 01:21:43 AM »
Since it's an issue with chaingun_af_pose.md5anim I've focused my attention there, comparing the original and the one I exported. The behavior (and his size) return to normal if I just stick the original file back in, so it makes me want to start messing with the contents of it. With all the other animations being perfect by the game, I don't see why it's having an issue with this.

EDIT:

I managed to figure it out by studying documentation on the md5anim format and editing it in notepad. Replacing the hierarchy with the original gets rid of the origin problem (the table doesn't store any coordinates) and then going through the baseframe and each body has 2 sets of numbers in parenthesis, the first being where a body is X/Y/Z (which I left alone as changing the size would also change these numbers) and then replacing the second set which is the direction that each body points X/Y/Z as I noticed some of them seemed to be very close or exact to the original values but negative, so I replaced these for all 64 bodies with the originals as the directions would stay the same. This ended up fixing the problem.
« Last Edit: June 11, 2017, 05:20:08 AM by spamclark15 »