Author Topic: Modernizing DOOM 3  (Read 4008 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

motorsep

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 972
  • Karma: +74/-128
  • Artist
    • View Profile
    • Kot in Action Creative Artel
Re: Modernizing DOOM 3
« Reply #30 on: August 18, 2015, 08:11:00 PM »
@trebor: still crashed :/

trebor

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 94
  • Karma: +14/-7
  • Boomstick Veteran
    • View Profile
Re: Modernizing DOOM 3
« Reply #31 on: August 19, 2015, 05:21:30 AM »
Fix your assets and look into your qconsole.log.

I just downloaded Zombie's map from http://www.moddb.com/mods/sikkmod/addons/nightmare-burrows and extracted it into a testmod/ folder.
Then I created the testmod.cmd in it with

cd..
start /high RBDoom3BFG.exe +set fs_game_base testmod +set fs_resourceLoadPriority 0

It runs without any problems.

motorsep

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 972
  • Karma: +74/-128
  • Artist
    • View Profile
    • Kot in Action Creative Artel
Re: Modernizing DOOM 3
« Reply #32 on: August 19, 2015, 07:44:22 AM »
Fix your assets and look into your qconsole.log.

I just downloaded Zombie's map from http://www.moddb.com/mods/sikkmod/addons/nightmare-burrows and extracted it into a testmod/ folder.
Then I created the testmod.cmd in it with

cd..
start /high RBDoom3BFG.exe +set fs_game_base testmod +set fs_resourceLoadPriority 0

It runs without any problems.

I already ran the mod with RBDoom 3 BFG, but with main game with extracted assets. All I did was I deleted extracted assets and kept resources (as if I just downloaded D3BFG through Steam).

I'll run debug build and see what's up.

motorsep

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 972
  • Karma: +74/-128
  • Artist
    • View Profile
    • Kot in Action Creative Artel
Re: Modernizing DOOM 3
« Reply #33 on: August 23, 2015, 09:18:53 PM »
Ok, tried and retried, with unpacked and packed resources - RBDoom 3 BFG crashes when loading a map, containing monsters/any skeletal stuff, from a mod folder.

aphexjh

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 120
  • Karma: +7/-0
    • View Profile
    • hallowed mod
Re: Modernizing DOOM 3
« Reply #34 on: August 23, 2015, 09:38:44 PM »
so, no custom monsters/ragdolls? Regretable, but doable.

Motorstep, you may have already said, but is there a way to make custom resource packages that will avoid this limitation?

motorsep

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 972
  • Karma: +74/-128
  • Artist
    • View Profile
    • Kot in Action Creative Artel
Re: Modernizing DOOM 3
« Reply #35 on: August 23, 2015, 10:36:59 PM »
so, no custom monsters/ragdolls? Regretable, but doable.

Not in the mod folder, which is indeed regretable. I had no problem having map made and loaded from mod folder. But as soon as I added AI, RBDoom 3 BFG just crashed silently. I can probably debug it, if trebor is willing to fix it.

I am willing to bet that there will be more crashes. No one mods the game, and since no one does, trebor probably has no interest in fixing something no one uses.

Motorstep, you may have already said, but is there a way to make custom resource packages that will avoid this limitation?

I don't believe so. The issue is with how .resources are managed and how engine treats virtual file system.

bitterman

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 270
  • Karma: +8/-5
  • Doom Newbie
    • View Profile
Re: Modernizing DOOM 3
« Reply #36 on: March 30, 2016, 12:17:01 AM »
My bet is placed on running a compiled .EXE (D3BFG/RBDOOM) with the minimum data set own game (without the original .resources sets at all).

Now it's just an unpacking /base folder with simple test map and stuff. It's still unstable. But looks like there is no need to:

Code: [Select]
+set fs_game_base testmod +set fs_resourceLoadPriority 0
But I did not go so far as creating AI.

Good next point.