Author Topic: Doomedit error  (Read 332 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

svi16

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • Doom Newbie
    • View Profile
Doomedit error
« on: March 24, 2018, 07:38:29 AM »
This is my first post here and i'm having problem with doomedit. My editor doesn't launch immediately with my custom shortcut and i need to quit the game or type editor manually in the console to open the editor,other commands like r_fullscreen 0 seems to be working. I know it's not a major problem but it'll definitely helps if i can get a solution.

Thanks.

Snehk

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 44
  • Karma: +6/-0
  • Doom Newbie
    • View Profile
Re: Doomedit error
« Reply #1 on: March 24, 2018, 01:01:28 PM »
Doomedit is pretty old and buggy, Dark Radiant is a much better level editor for Doom 3, as well as numerous other games on this engine. I haven't experienced any errors with it so far and it's quite easy to use. Giving it a path to your game directory is the only necessary configuration, the editor handles all the rest on it's own.

You can download it from this page.

The Happy Friar

  • Happy Happy Joy Joy
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 897
  • Karma: +42/-4
  • Semi-Newbie.
    • View Profile
    • EarthQuake
Re: Doomedit error
« Reply #2 on: March 24, 2018, 06:55:39 PM »
I concur, give Dark Radiant a try.

I've found that DoomEdit has different errors in Win 10 vs XP, that's why I switched.

svi16

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • Doom Newbie
    • View Profile
Re: Doomedit error
« Reply #3 on: March 25, 2018, 07:20:23 AM »
I'm currently trying out DarkRadiant but i found that there's no Z (height) editor in it. Do you need to shift view to edit height or there's a way to make one appear like in DoomEdit?
Here's my first map using DoomEdit = https://www.dropbox.com/s/m3x363io2rshlmi/test.rar?dl=0 (Sorry if it's crappy,it's my first ever map).

Yeah,DoomEdit is very glitchy. Mine can't rotate monster or char entities but other entities are fine.

Also can you guys give criticism about the map i made so i can know my map's pros and cons and improve.

The Happy Friar

  • Happy Happy Joy Joy
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 897
  • Karma: +42/-4
  • Semi-Newbie.
    • View Profile
    • EarthQuake
Re: Doomedit error
« Reply #4 on: March 25, 2018, 03:04:10 PM »
I just downloaded the latest DR & there is no Z only window.  They either removed it since I last used it or have never had it in.  You can switch window view with CTRL+TAB (top, front, side).  I never used the Z only window, I grew up on 3 window setups for 3d.  :)

aphexjh

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 122
  • Karma: +7/-0
    • View Profile
    • hallowed mod
Re: Doomedit error
« Reply #5 on: March 27, 2018, 04:51:10 PM »
Just want to make sure your "custom shortcut" includes these. (game path is dependent on your install location of course)

"C:\Doom3\Doom3.exe" +set r_fullscreen 0 +editor +set com_allowConsole 1

The editor does not work with antialiasing turned on, so you may need to add:
+set r_multiSamples 0

also putting this in there someplace might help:
+vid_restart

Long Live DoomEdit

The Happy Friar

  • Happy Happy Joy Joy
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 897
  • Karma: +42/-4
  • Semi-Newbie.
    • View Profile
    • EarthQuake
Re: Doomedit error
« Reply #6 on: March 31, 2018, 07:13:21 AM »
My Doom 3 shortcuts also include " +set win_allowMultipleInstances 1" so I can have multiple instances of the game open at once.  It was very handy to have the editor & game open in at the same time.

svi16

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • Doom Newbie
    • View Profile
Re: Doomedit error
« Reply #7 on: March 31, 2018, 01:15:22 PM »
Yes, my Doom 3 shortcut included all those. I've tried adding vid_restart on the parameter before,but it didn't work. I reinstalled Doom 3 and updated to 1.3.1 and most of the errors are resolved. I can now rotate "living" entities and the editor starts immediately.

aphexjh

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 122
  • Karma: +7/-0
    • View Profile
    • hallowed mod
Re: Doomedit error
« Reply #8 on: April 03, 2018, 08:49:33 AM »
I would not rotate entities with the rotation tools, instead use the directional tool in the entity inspector.