News:

One Minute Game Review by The Happy Friar: https://ugetube.com/@OneMinteGameReviews
Also on Rumble: https://rumble.com/c/c-1115371

idTech 4 (aka Doom 3 tech) Discord Server! https://discord.gg/9wtCGHa

Main Menu

How to compile Doom 3 source

Started by Mr A, August 12, 2014, 09:49:18 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Mr A

Can any of you guys help me with this? I'm a total noob when it comes to this and it seems a bit complicated from the sources I've found. 

So I'm guessing I need Visual Studio, but I've read some versions don't work and I may have to buy a version to compile it.  I've also read that I'll need the Direct X SDK from June 2010. 

So yeah I'm really clueless.  If anyone could make an idiots guide I would be most grateful =)

The Happy Friar

The stock D3 code needs MFC so it can compile the tools.  Here's a tutorial on how to do that with the non-pro version of Visual Studio: http://www.moddb.com/company/apgsoftware/tutorials/how-to-compile-doom-3-with-visual-studio-2010

With the latest version of Visual Studio, it's different because MS changed how the newest versions work with the DX SDK, MFC, etc.  I forgot if/what I did.

deadite4

Also, are you just making a mod for Doom 3 or compile the GPL code?  If just the SDK for a Doom 3 mod, you can do that with free tools.

motorsep

Quote from: deadite4 on August 13, 2014, 07:34:07 AM
Also, are you just making a mod for Doom 3 or compile the GPL code?  If just the SDK for a Doom 3 mod, you can do that with free tools.

MSVC is free ;)

Mr A

Quote from: The Happy Friar on August 13, 2014, 06:22:56 AM
The stock D3 code needs MFC so it can compile the tools.  Here's a tutorial on how to do that with the non-pro version of Visual Studio: http://www.moddb.com/company/apgsoftware/tutorials/how-to-compile-doom-3-with-visual-studio-2010

With the latest version of Visual Studio, it's different because MS changed how the newest versions work with the DX SDK, MFC, etc.  I forgot if/what I did.