Author Topic: Doom3/BFG and Windows 10  (Read 14435 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

VGames

  • PD3 Beta Testers
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 757
  • Karma: +17/-69
    • View Profile
Re: Doom3/BFG and Windows 10
« Reply #15 on: August 21, 2015, 12:49:11 PM »
I just remove the spaces in the doom 3 exe name to fix it.

Get the latest on Perfected Doom 3 here - http://www.moddb.com/mods/perfected-doom-3-version-500

The Happy Friar

  • Happy Happy Joy Joy
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 900
  • Karma: +42/-4
  • Semi-Newbie.
    • View Profile
    • EarthQuake
Re: Doom3/BFG and Windows 10
« Reply #16 on: August 21, 2015, 03:39:54 PM »
I have a feeling that HD 7xxx series have faulty hardware, since I hear from various R9 series users that D3BFG (and derivative engines) runs fine on their PCs, and anyone with older GPUs always have had issues with D3BFG and derived games (RAGE and new Wolfs for example).

I was under the impress that the RX AMD cards, with the exception of the 29x variants, were HD 7xxxx series hardware rebranded.  The benchmarks I've seen comparing them seems to back that up too.

Motorsep and I did some renaming changes one time.  We changed the stock exe to various game exe names and would break various features of the game!  Even other id game names broke it!  :)

motorsep

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 993
  • Karma: +74/-131
  • Artist
    • View Profile
    • Kot in Action Creative Artel
Re: Doom3/BFG and Windows 10
« Reply #17 on: August 21, 2015, 04:57:57 PM »
I was under the impress that the RX AMD cards, with the exception of the 29x variants, were HD 7xxxx series hardware rebranded.  The benchmarks I've seen comparing them seems to back that up too.

Not R9, but maybe R7. R9 is a brand new hardware design, stuff they use on this gen of consoles.

romulus_ut3

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 66
  • Karma: +1/-2
  • Doom Newbie
    • View Profile
Re: Doom3/BFG and Windows 10
« Reply #18 on: August 23, 2015, 08:20:10 AM »
R9 280X is a rebadged HD 7970. (Tahiti XT)

R9 280 is a rebadged HD 7950. (Tahiti PRO)

R9 270X is a rebadged HD 7870. (Pitcairn, dubbed as Curaco)

R9 270 is a stripped down R9 270X that draws less power and requires one less PEG connector.

So, basically, most of the R9 series of cards are just rebadges of HD 7XXX series of cards. R7, too. The only new chips that came out with the R9 series are the R9 285 aka Tonga Pro, the R9 290 and the R9 290X, aka the Hawaiis.

I don't know where you're getting this hardware issue from, but the HD 7XXX series of cards are stable, it's the OpenGL support that sucks.

AMD drivers require clean installations, btw. Something a lot of users neglect or are unaware of the procedures. This can have unwanted consequences if you just keep on installing one driver over another.

And there're a couple of more tricks that I use. Lets assume that OpenGL Vsync is broken with AMD Catalyst 14.10, but works fine on an earlier version of Catalyst driver. We take a the ATI's OpenGL dynamic link library files from the previous stable Catalyst driver and place them with the OpenGL game executable, and voila! Problem solved.
« Last Edit: August 23, 2015, 08:42:37 AM by romulus_ut3 »

VGames

  • PD3 Beta Testers
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 757
  • Karma: +17/-69
    • View Profile
Re: Doom3/BFG and Windows 10
« Reply #19 on: August 23, 2015, 10:14:09 AM »
Yeah... I'll be going with Nvidia next time I upgrade.
Get the latest on Perfected Doom 3 here - http://www.moddb.com/mods/perfected-doom-3-version-500

motorsep

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 993
  • Karma: +74/-131
  • Artist
    • View Profile
    • Kot in Action Creative Artel
Re: Doom3/BFG and Windows 10
« Reply #20 on: August 23, 2015, 11:24:44 AM »
For all I know, our engine works like crap with 7850, but works fine with R9 290X. So it's gotta be hardware thing, since both use the same driver.

VGames

  • PD3 Beta Testers
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 757
  • Karma: +17/-69
    • View Profile
Re: Doom3/BFG and Windows 10
« Reply #21 on: August 23, 2015, 01:45:57 PM »
Yeah... I'll be going with Nvidia next time I upgrade.
Get the latest on Perfected Doom 3 here - http://www.moddb.com/mods/perfected-doom-3-version-500

romulus_ut3

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 66
  • Karma: +1/-2
  • Doom Newbie
    • View Profile
Re: Doom3/BFG and Windows 10
« Reply #22 on: August 23, 2015, 02:55:54 PM »
For all I know, our engine works like crap with 7850, but works fine with R9 290X. So it's gotta be hardware thing, since both use the same driver.

What seems to be the issue? Apart from Soft shadows, everything else works perfectly.

motorsep

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 993
  • Karma: +74/-131
  • Artist
    • View Profile
    • Kot in Action Creative Artel
Re: Doom3/BFG and Windows 10
« Reply #23 on: August 23, 2015, 03:46:15 PM »
For all I know, our engine works like crap with 7850, but works fine with R9 290X. So it's gotta be hardware thing, since both use the same driver.

What seems to be the issue? Apart from Soft shadows, everything else works perfectly.

I wouldn't be able to go into details since I don't have AMD. All I know it shows idIndexBuffer::MapBuffer: failed after crash.  It never happened on Windows 8.1 as far as I know. Although performance was abysmal with or without soft shadows.

If you go into Issues for RBDoom 3 on Github, you'll see people complaining about low fps on AMD. It's definitely not about soft shadows.

argoon

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 275
  • Karma: +21/-81
  • Doom Newbie
    • View Profile
Re: Doom3/BFG and Windows 10
« Reply #24 on: August 23, 2015, 04:08:35 PM »
I see so many people complaining about AMD supposed problems and driver problems when in here i have none of that, it makes me wonder if the problem is indeed AMD or the users, it all works fine here, i always do a clean driver install, i never overclock my GPU and i never force anything trough CCC, all at default,  i play all my games with no problems whatsoever, OpenGL or otherwise, even played penumbra necrologue today with custom shaders forced with reShade framework (its a injector similar to SweetFX but works with OpenGL games) http://reshade.me/ , all worked as expected.
Btw Doom 3 works fine (only add the normal problems with modded doom 3, solved after disabling C-AI), Doom3BFG works fine, RBDoom3BFG works fine and is perfectly playable here even with soft shadows enabled at 1080p no AA, and this was true with my old AMD HD 5770 and now with my new R9 270X. 

romulus_ut3

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 66
  • Karma: +1/-2
  • Doom Newbie
    • View Profile
Re: Doom3/BFG and Windows 10
« Reply #25 on: August 23, 2015, 07:08:26 PM »
For all I know, our engine works like crap with 7850, but works fine with R9 290X. So it's gotta be hardware thing, since both use the same driver.

What seems to be the issue? Apart from Soft shadows, everything else works perfectly.

I wouldn't be able to go into details since I don't have AMD. All I know it shows idIndexBuffer::MapBuffer: failed after crash.  It never happened on Windows 8.1 as far as I know. Although performance was abysmal with or without soft shadows.

If you go into Issues for RBDoom 3 on Github, you'll see people complaining about low fps on AMD. It's definitely not about soft shadows.

If you turn the soft shadows off, there's absolutely no issues at all. I was among one of those that brought it to trebor's attention that the soft shadows are responsible for performance hits. Everything else works as it should.   

motorsep

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 993
  • Karma: +74/-131
  • Artist
    • View Profile
    • Kot in Action Creative Artel
Re: Doom3/BFG and Windows 10
« Reply #26 on: August 23, 2015, 07:21:28 PM »
I see so many people complaining about AMD supposed problems and driver problems when in here i have none of that, it makes me wonder if the problem is indeed AMD or the users, it all works fine here, i always do a clean driver install, i never overclock my GPU and i never force anything trough CCC, all at default,  i play all my games with no problems whatsoever, OpenGL or otherwise, even played penumbra necrologue today with custom shaders forced with reShade framework (its a injector similar to SweetFX but works with OpenGL games) http://reshade.me/ , all worked as expected.
Btw Doom 3 works fine (only add the normal problems with modded doom 3, solved after disabling C-AI), Doom3BFG works fine, RBDoom3BFG works fine and is perfectly playable here even with soft shadows enabled at 1080p no AA, and this was true with my old AMD HD 5770 and now with my new R9 270X.

So Wolf TNO and Wolf OB and RAGE work fine for you? I haven't see a single AMD user who had those games working fine for them (except of one R9 290X user).

The Happy Friar

  • Happy Happy Joy Joy
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 900
  • Karma: +42/-4
  • Semi-Newbie.
    • View Profile
    • EarthQuake
Re: Doom3/BFG and Windows 10
« Reply #27 on: August 23, 2015, 09:20:17 PM »
RAGE worked as expected for me.  Evil Within demo worked as expect for me.   That was on Win 8.1 though, never tried them on 10.

romulus_ut3

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 66
  • Karma: +1/-2
  • Doom Newbie
    • View Profile
Re: Doom3/BFG and Windows 10
« Reply #28 on: August 24, 2015, 04:08:03 AM »
RAGE runs at a steady 60 FPS for me with all the bells and whistles turned on with very little texture pop in. The Evil Within works wonderful too, but not at a constant 60 FPS. I can present frametimes and framerate if necessary.

The Happy Friar

  • Happy Happy Joy Joy
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 900
  • Karma: +42/-4
  • Semi-Newbie.
    • View Profile
    • EarthQuake
Re: Doom3/BFG and Windows 10
« Reply #29 on: August 24, 2015, 07:05:43 AM »
On Win 10?