News:

One Minute Game Review by The Happy Friar: https://ugetube.com/@OneMinteGameReviews
Also on Rumble: https://rumble.com/c/c-1115371

idTech 4 (aka Doom 3 tech) Discord Server! https://discord.gg/9wtCGHa

Main Menu

help with a script

Started by argoon, September 24, 2016, 05:15:28 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

argoon

Hello guys can anyone that knows coding and specially doom 3 scripting see why this script of mine is not working? Is a experience of mine about making a mouse over functionality without the need to mess with the source c++ (that i don't really know at all).

First a disclamer i'm not a coder i'm just a noob at c++ coding and at Doom 3 scripting, what you see below is what i came up with, by trial&error, by reading and copypasting from various sources.

Now the important part, the code that doesn't work as i want it, is the entity.setShaderParm() bit, it highlights the object like i want it too, when i mouse over the "frob" object (inspiration from TDM ;p), but when i stop "mouse overing" the object it stays highlighted still, i tried everything some of my tries made me turn on and off the highlight but only when i mouse overed the object again, what i'm i  missing here?

The funny thing is that the code that turns off the test light (that i put for debugging) and the code to activate the func_animate works just fine. Only problem the func_animate hides it self after playing all the animations.

Sorry for the messy code...

////////////////////
//
//    global vars

#define FROB_NONE  0
#define FROB_OVER  1

entity frobEntity; // detected entity with frob enabled
float isOver_obj = false; // Is the player looking to frob object ?
float   command     = FROB_NONE;
vector traceStart, tracEnd;
float useBtn, btn0; // use button for frob, same as attack
//float highlight_on = false;
float parm11_state;
float isPressed = false;
float isFrobable; // check for the frob spwn arg value
///////////////////

/*
============
trace_objs
============
*/