Author Topic: Rotating func_mover_amodel  (Read 506 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

douglas quaid

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 88
  • Karma: +6/-8
  • Level Designer/Sound Designer
    • View Profile
    • Total Recall
Rotating func_mover_amodel
« on: March 06, 2015, 11:25:51 AM »
Good morning! :)

It's a while since I've been on the forums and I hope everyone's getting things done and helping fellow modders. I come to you with an enquiry about rotating models. It's probably the easiest fix but for the past few months I've only been focusing on blocking out the maps I'm working on for Total Recall, and because of this I usually forget how to script not long after learning, as my mind is else where on the project.

I'm right now working on the final level for TR (Yay!) and I'm trying to make use of the rotating rings from Enpro Plant.
Code: [Select]
func_mover_amodel (models/seneca/reactor/reactortube.ace)
My aim is to have Quaid running through a centrifuge while these models rotate around him and was just wondering what I need to make the model rotate on the axis shown below.



Thanks,

Quaid.
« Last Edit: March 06, 2015, 11:34:54 AM by douglas quaid »
TOTAL RECALL - Singleplayer mod for Doom 3 starring Arnold Schwarzenegger
BLACKOUT - Free indie horror game based on the id Tech 4 engine

Bladeghost

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 66
  • Karma: +13/-1
  • idTech4 Mod Artist
    • View Profile
Re: Rotating func_mover_amodel
« Reply #1 on: March 06, 2015, 03:42:10 PM »
One thing you can try is right click menu and choose func_rotating and then select model from the entity inspector choose your model and then set your parameters. (speed direction) etc. see if that works. sometimes it has full collision and is a hindrance instead of what's intended (func_rotating's) tend to do that sometimes.
 or use it in a level script and just set your model to rotate:
example:
Code: [Select]
$model.time(12);
$model.rotate('360 0 0');
perhaps use the while(1) if needed to loop the rotation.

these are some things you can try.
« Last Edit: March 06, 2015, 03:46:47 PM by Bladeghost »

The Happy Friar

  • Happy Happy Joy Joy
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 772
  • Karma: +30/-4
  • Semi-Newbie.
    • View Profile
    • EarthQuake
Re: Rotating func_mover_amodel
« Reply #2 on: March 06, 2015, 09:06:27 PM »
You could also use a script to rotate a func_mover.