Author Topic: Editing pieces of levels  (Read 1881 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

doom3xbox

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 92
  • Karma: +0/-2
  • Doom Newbie
    • View Profile
Editing pieces of levels
« on: August 07, 2015, 07:27:12 PM »
Hello,

I only bought a copy of Doom 3 last year for the Xbox, I found the game rather repetitive and certainly some freight moments, I'm not a horror fan.

I was reflecting on the game, and the story it being about demons and all that sort of stuff, I actually thought it was to do with Aliens invading a Martian outpost.

I've recently been playing through certain levels, just going through the delta labs area.

I had played the demo in 2004 on a 64MB Geforce MX 420 Graphics card, Pentium 4 2.26GHZ. Which I still own today, how ever the RAM and Graphics card were upgraded years later.

I was just curiously reading about Doom 3 modding, what can anyone here tell me about it?

I wouldn't be interested in new content, just editing a few existing locations in the game, and interconnecting them with a particular set of enemies as an idea.

I guess Mapping and scripting is the focus.

I currently don't own a copy for the PC. I have a Nividia Geforce 6200 (2006) graphics card. The game was released in 2004 for the PC, and as stated I did run a demo in late 2004 on the exact same system I'm still using.

Thanks for reading.

argoon

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 199
  • Karma: +14/-73
  • Doom Newbie
    • View Profile
Re: Editing pieces of levels
« Reply #1 on: August 07, 2015, 09:13:19 PM »
First afaik you can't run Doom 3 mods on the Xbox version.

Second for mapping for Doom 3 PC you just need to learn how to use the editor you can use this forum to ask questions and there's the level editing forum. http://idtechforums.fuzzylogicinc.com/index.php?board=35.0

If you are more off a video guy theres also the Doom 3 series at

http://www.3dbuzz.com/training/view/doom-3-modding/series-1

doom3xbox

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 92
  • Karma: +0/-2
  • Doom Newbie
    • View Profile
Re: Editing pieces of levels
« Reply #2 on: August 08, 2015, 06:29:00 AM »
I'm well aware about the xbox copy, I am refering to the PC copy.

If I want to say seperate the first part of the game level, when the Marine enters the Martian outpost, where do I begin to edit the scripts and remove pieces to connect a different part of the game's level to there via a door.

I've posted in the level editing section, so far only one reply, being yourself.

The only mapping concept I have is from the Quake 3 GTKRadiant, and UberRadiant. I'm not an expert, I've just used them in the past many years back.

oneofthe8devilz

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 363
  • Karma: +93/-83
  • Doom Newbie
    • View Profile
    • Scared Pixel Studios
Re: Editing pieces of levels
« Reply #3 on: August 08, 2015, 07:23:55 AM »
Once you start to get familiar with the editor, things will start to make more sense to you and you will be able to modify the existing maps. Thanks to the text-readable-format you can open any relevant doom3 files with a simple text-editor and see how the developers have created and setup the scenes...

So once you identified the maps you would like to modify, open them up in the editor and take a look around... you will see the geometry together with all the different assets that make that map work (i.e. clip brushes, triggers, lights, speakers, AI).

Once you get more advanced working with the editor through practicing, you can then take a look at the more complicated stuff like map scripts which are used to execute more complex events in the map...

Step by step you then should be able to open, understand and edit the maps to your liking...

I got six little friends and they all run faster than you ;)


Check out our mods at
moddb or the SPS Homepage

doom3xbox

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 92
  • Karma: +0/-2
  • Doom Newbie
    • View Profile
Re: Editing pieces of levels
« Reply #4 on: August 08, 2015, 04:46:05 PM »
I'm rather confused, just how does one edit or change a level.

Or if I want to add a particular light from one level to another, and I mean a physical light not some type of source of light, just how is that done?

Is GTK 1.40 suitable for Doom 3? That would of been used in 2004 for various Quake 3 games.
« Last Edit: August 08, 2015, 04:55:36 PM by doom3xbox »

oneofthe8devilz

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 363
  • Karma: +93/-83
  • Doom Newbie
    • View Profile
    • Scared Pixel Studios
Re: Editing pieces of levels
« Reply #5 on: August 08, 2015, 05:00:30 PM »

To start the editor...

Also before getting your hands dirty with the doom3 editor, it would make sense for you to get familiar with the doom3 filesystem.

https://www.iddevnet.com/doom3/packfiles.php

You will need that in order to extract and add maps to doom3's archive system (*.pk4)
« Last Edit: August 08, 2015, 05:07:32 PM by oneofthe8devilz »
I got six little friends and they all run faster than you ;)


Check out our mods at
moddb or the SPS Homepage

doom3xbox

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 92
  • Karma: +0/-2
  • Doom Newbie
    • View Profile
Re: Editing pieces of levels
« Reply #6 on: August 08, 2015, 06:22:20 PM »
Id made Doom 3 moddable then, as with Mafia, Grand Theft Auto and Elite Force, they are not designed that way.

motorsep

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 905
  • Karma: +72/-126
  • Artist
    • View Profile
    • Kot in Action Creative Artel
Re: Editing pieces of levels
« Reply #7 on: August 08, 2015, 09:15:51 PM »
@doom3xbox: I would advised against using DOOMEdit and instead recommend using DarkRadiant: https://github.com/codereader/DarkRadiant/releases

The Happy Friar

  • Happy Happy Joy Joy
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 772
  • Karma: +30/-4
  • Semi-Newbie.
    • View Profile
    • EarthQuake
Re: Editing pieces of levels
« Reply #8 on: August 08, 2015, 10:45:45 PM »
i'd recommend Dark Radiant too. 

Works nearly identical to GTK Radiant but with enhancements.

If you want to modify a current level, open up one of the .pk4 files in the doom3/base folder (forget which one exactly) with a program that reads ZIP files.  Look in the maps/game folder in the zip.  Extract the level you want to mess with to your doom3/base/maps/game folder (you'll need to make the maps/game folder most likely), then load an editor & load up the map in that editor.  Unlike previous id based games the actual .map files are read by the engine so there's no pre-compiled .bsp files.  Just make your changes and save your map file (or save under a different name).

Then load up Doom 3 & compile map with the command "dmap maps/game/level.map". That compiles a collision file & the monster area awareness files so the AI doesn't run around "brain dead."  If there's a leak you'll have to fix it just like other id games.

motorsep

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 905
  • Karma: +72/-126
  • Artist
    • View Profile
    • Kot in Action Creative Artel
Re: Editing pieces of levels
« Reply #9 on: August 08, 2015, 11:51:20 PM »
@doom3xbox: Btw, I just remembered - watch this: http://www.3dbuzz.com/training/view/doom-3-modding to get a decent idea about modding (basics) Doom 3. You can translate almost everything to DarkRadiant mapping.

doom3xbox

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 92
  • Karma: +0/-2
  • Doom Newbie
    • View Profile
Re: Editing pieces of levels
« Reply #10 on: August 09, 2015, 05:47:23 PM »
I'm currently just doing a preliminary research into this. I don't own a PC copy.

I have recently been playing Doom 3 on the Xbox, I honestly find it such a bore in certain levels. But I like the Mars city parts, as well as the textures of blood and skeletons.

I guess the demo wasn't in anyway moddable to get a bit of hands of experience before buying a copy. They are cheap as a couple of fries on Amazon Uk 2.01p altogether.

motorsep

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 905
  • Karma: +72/-126
  • Artist
    • View Profile
    • Kot in Action Creative Artel
Re: Editing pieces of levels
« Reply #11 on: August 09, 2015, 06:18:25 PM »
I would agree that some of the maps aren't too fun, but generally speaking, if you read all the lore on the tablets and take your time to digest all of it, the lore is interesting and thus, the game as a whole is quite interesting.

The Happy Friar

  • Happy Happy Joy Joy
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 772
  • Karma: +30/-4
  • Semi-Newbie.
    • View Profile
    • EarthQuake
Re: Editing pieces of levels
« Reply #12 on: August 10, 2015, 06:45:37 AM »
I don't know if the demo can read moddable assets but the assets included with the demo are moddable.

With the other id games, compiling the GPL code let you run mods with the demos so I'm guessing it would be the same here.

caedes

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 47
  • Karma: +17/-11
  • Doom Newbie
    • View Profile
    • My Github Account
Re: Editing pieces of levels
« Reply #13 on: August 10, 2015, 06:48:48 PM »
With the other id games, compiling the GPL code let you run mods with the demos so I'm guessing it would be the same here.
Nope, you'd at least need things from the 1.3 patch as well + maybe more changes to make it work, not sure.

just buy the fucking game, it's cheap.

doom3xbox

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 92
  • Karma: +0/-2
  • Doom Newbie
    • View Profile
Re: Editing pieces of levels
« Reply #14 on: August 11, 2015, 08:48:04 AM »
Haha!^

I'm currently messing about with Elite force 2, but UberRadiant doesn't work very well on Windows XP Home Edition. Notsure why. I'm being assisted at the moment with that project. So eventually I will turn to this.

Could somebody please direct me to a link for activation button scripting for this game? Like for example the screens that operate doors and whatever in Doom 3.