Author Topic: Editing pieces of levels  (Read 4106 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

doom3xbox

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 92
  • Karma: +1/-2
  • Doom Newbie
    • View Profile
Re: Editing pieces of levels
« Reply #15 on: September 06, 2015, 06:18:13 PM »
As for scripting or coding, just what is used to make a computer touch screen console work in the game to open a door?

If one enemy is exchanged for another in a particular level at a certain location, can that work? Or if one enemy is deleted the code for it goes to? Or well the actual code file is then useless in a folder.

doom3xbox

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 92
  • Karma: +1/-2
  • Doom Newbie
    • View Profile
Re: Editing pieces of levels
« Reply #16 on: September 08, 2015, 08:17:41 AM »
What are the three following files linked with a map? .aas .cm .proc?

Are the necessary to be kept with a map in the base folder while editing the map?

I recall with Raven's elite force, there was a bsp and a map, and then a couple of files along with those, but they were generated when compiling. A map can't be edited very well without the original bsp, at least that is what I know of it.


motorsep

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 972
  • Karma: +74/-128
  • Artist
    • View Profile
    • Kot in Action Creative Artel
Re: Editing pieces of levels
« Reply #17 on: September 08, 2015, 10:38:45 AM »

doom3xbox

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 92
  • Karma: +1/-2
  • Doom Newbie
    • View Profile
Re: Editing pieces of levels
« Reply #18 on: September 08, 2015, 11:48:04 AM »
Right..

So I imagine I should keep all in the maps folder for editing as well running the level, I've backed up the pak4 and the files to one side.

Of course, I need to extract all the textures.

With DoomEditor I can't seem to pivot up or down? I can move forward, etc
« Last Edit: September 08, 2015, 12:02:08 PM by doom3xbox »

motorsep

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 972
  • Karma: +74/-128
  • Artist
    • View Profile
    • Kot in Action Creative Artel
Re: Editing pieces of levels
« Reply #19 on: September 08, 2015, 12:19:33 PM »
I strongly recommend using DarkRadiant to map for Doom 3.

doom3xbox

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 92
  • Karma: +1/-2
  • Doom Newbie
    • View Profile
Re: Editing pieces of levels
« Reply #20 on: September 08, 2015, 12:26:18 PM »
Why is that?

When I used GTKRadiant, the map I had edited was a released modification, I had to correct the textures once loaded, but they were there, but not quite aligned properly, I even couldn't get it 100% as they were in the original release, I did the best I could with it.

With Doom 3 is that a task that is necessary when editing existing game maps?

Not quite a road I would travel down for Doom, but what is the file type for the in game model files?

I also notice gui file type, that to me stands for General user interface.

motorsep

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 972
  • Karma: +74/-128
  • Artist
    • View Profile
    • Kot in Action Creative Artel
Re: Editing pieces of levels
« Reply #21 on: September 08, 2015, 01:10:37 PM »
Did I ever say GTKRadiant?

Either way, use want suits your needs.

doom3xbox

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 92
  • Karma: +1/-2
  • Doom Newbie
    • View Profile
Re: Editing pieces of levels
« Reply #22 on: September 08, 2015, 04:00:31 PM »
No, from previous posts I mentioned my use of a Radiant or a similiar piece of software was that GTK, as well as Uber Radiant for Elite force 2, but due to running Windows XP scripting didn't work using that program, it being the only way I could edit for the game, so somebody else modded for me. Still WIP.

As I mentioned in the previous post I can't move the camera up or down. You've stated use DarkRadiant as what? It has a better function compared to DoomEdit. One would think that is the way to go.

I find it strange that a company developed a game, creates and editor yet produces a End User Licence Agreement that expresses to not to do anything of the tasks that many have done years before.

As for the the GUI file type, I was correct then.

The daemon files what file type are they? I could try and may be use Blender to take a look at a few. It isn't as if anyone of us got that chance when playing the game.

Phrozo

  • Mr. Phrozo
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 89
  • Karma: +15/-1
  • :3
    • View Profile
    • Mod Page
Re: Editing pieces of levels
« Reply #23 on: September 08, 2015, 07:16:19 PM »
DOOMEdit will work but it is buggy and not the most user friendly editor. DarkRadient is recommended.

A and Z looks up or down and C and D moves you up or down if I recall.

doom3xbox

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 92
  • Karma: +1/-2
  • Doom Newbie
    • View Profile
Re: Editing pieces of levels
« Reply #24 on: September 09, 2015, 08:11:35 AM »
I've done so. I've edited the value of one light, so I'll want to test this out.

With dragon unpacker I can't add the map back in the pak000 file.

doom3xbox

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 92
  • Karma: +1/-2
  • Doom Newbie
    • View Profile
Re: Editing pieces of levels
« Reply #25 on: September 09, 2015, 09:02:18 AM »
I downloaded 7 zip, and neither of the versions for windows available allow adding a file into pak000? "operation is not supported"

VGames

  • PD3 Beta Testers
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 754
  • Karma: +17/-69
    • View Profile
Re: Editing pieces of levels
« Reply #26 on: September 09, 2015, 09:11:35 AM »
I use this unless I need to unpack a huge pak file. Then I use winrar but I always use this to make pak files.

http://doom3.gamebanana.com/tools/2494
Get the latest on Perfected Doom 3 here - http://www.moddb.com/mods/perfected-doom-3-version-500

doom3xbox

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 92
  • Karma: +1/-2
  • Doom Newbie
    • View Profile
Re: Editing pieces of levels
« Reply #27 on: September 09, 2015, 09:20:21 AM »
Add and save? Like Pakscape 3, I had used for Elite force open a pak file and just add a map and a bsp.

VGames

  • PD3 Beta Testers
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 754
  • Karma: +17/-69
    • View Profile
Re: Editing pieces of levels
« Reply #28 on: September 09, 2015, 10:05:01 AM »
Yes u can add, remove, save, unpack. It does it all. But it can't unpack really big files. That's why I use winrar when I need to do that.
Get the latest on Perfected Doom 3 here - http://www.moddb.com/mods/perfected-doom-3-version-500

The Happy Friar

  • Happy Happy Joy Joy
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 866
  • Karma: +42/-4
  • Semi-Newbie.
    • View Profile
    • EarthQuake
Re: Editing pieces of levels
« Reply #29 on: September 09, 2015, 11:44:36 AM »
To use 7zip to add files to pk4's you need to associate the pk4 with zip.  In Win 8.1/10, right click on the pk4, choose "open with", find 7zip & check the "Always use this app" checkbox.  I just tried and it works.

You don't need to add a .map (or any file) back to a pk4 to play. Leave it in the folder it belongs and, if it's a map, you can load it just like any other map (if it's a changed game map & in the same relative folder, game will autoload it.  If it's a custom new map, in the console you type "map foldername/mapname").