Author Topic: Wierd glitch?  (Read 3148 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

abi008

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 10
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • Doom Newbie
    • View Profile
Wierd glitch?
« on: February 10, 2015, 08:39:26 AM »
hello, I don't know why, but it seems to be some kind of glitch with decomposing bodies.
Take a look here:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UHQ6Rrea5FE

I hope someone has a solution bcs this looks dumb.

The Happy Friar

  • Happy Happy Joy Joy
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 991
  • Karma: +45/-4
  • Semi-Newbie.
    • View Profile
    • EarthQuake
Re: Wierd glitch?
« Reply #1 on: February 11, 2015, 07:24:57 AM »
stock D3 doesn't do that.  What mod/changes do you have?

abi008

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 10
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • Doom Newbie
    • View Profile
Re: Wierd glitch?
« Reply #2 on: February 11, 2015, 03:12:30 PM »
I had lost of mods, but then I tried to reinstall doom 3 without mods and same thing happens? Could it be related to 64-bit system or AMD graphic card?

aphexjh

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 127
  • Karma: +7/-0
    • View Profile
    • hallowed mod
Re: Wierd glitch?
« Reply #3 on: February 11, 2015, 04:36:15 PM »
It is not an issue with 64 bit, I don't think. More likely, is that you are still running some kind of mod, since its evident in your video that the gibs and burn away fx have been changed. Make sure the Doom 3 folder is clean (has nothing but stock install files) and ensure that your shortcut is going to the right folder/executable. Also, the video looks like you are running a graphics mod, so you may want to make sure you have no mods installed.

What I thought before you made this post, just seeing the video, is that you are having a conflict between 2 different mods, which have both possibly made changes to the burn away effects and gibs. Conflicts can be very difficult to isolate, since their can be changes in a number of files and across any of the mods you are using, which is why running mods together has unintended consequences, such as this.

Also, as usual, make sure you are fully patched.
« Last Edit: February 11, 2015, 04:39:10 PM by aphexjh »

BloodRayne

  • Old Forum Goer
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 136
  • Karma: +13/-0
  • Doom Newbie
    • View Profile
    • Grimm Quest for the Gatherer's Key
Re: Wierd glitch?
« Reply #4 on: February 11, 2015, 04:45:52 PM »
Can you make a screenshot for us of your Doom3\base folder and post it here?
Like this:




abi008

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 10
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • Doom Newbie
    • View Profile
Re: Wierd glitch?
« Reply #5 on: February 11, 2015, 04:58:22 PM »
Sure, but it wont matter since i reinstalled it without any mods, btw thanks for your help

abi008

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 10
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • Doom Newbie
    • View Profile
Re: Wierd glitch?
« Reply #6 on: February 11, 2015, 05:00:42 PM »
And here is Doom.cfg just in case

unbindall
bind "TAB" "_impulse19"
bind "ENTER" "_button2"
bind "ESCAPE" "togglemenu"
bind "SPACE" "_moveup"
bind "/" "_impulse14"
bind "0" "_impulse10"
bind "1" "_impulse0"
bind "2" "_impulse1"
bind "3" "_impulse2"
bind "4" "_impulse3"
bind "5" "_impulse4"
bind "6" "_impulse5"
bind "7" "_impulse6"
bind "8" "_impulse7"
bind "9" "_impulse8"
bind "[" "_impulse15"
bind "\" "_mlook"
bind "]" "_impulse14"
bind "a" "_moveleft"
bind "c" "_movedown"
bind "d" "_moveright"
bind "f" "_impulse11"
bind "q" "_impulse9"
bind "r" "_impulse13"
bind "s" "_back"
bind "t" "clientMessageMode"
bind "w" "_forward"
bind "y" "clientMessageMode 1"
bind "z" "_zoom"
bind "BACKSPACE" "clientDropWeapon"
bind "PAUSE" "pause"
bind "UPARROW" "_forward"
bind "DOWNARROW" "_back"
bind "LEFTARROW" "_left"
bind "RIGHTARROW" "_right"
bind "ALT" "_strafe"
bind "CTRL" "_attack"
bind "SHIFT" "_speed"
bind "DEL" "_lookdown"
bind "PGDN" "_lookup"
bind "END" "_impulse18"
bind "F1" "_impulse28"
bind "F2" "_impulse29"
bind "F3" "_impulse17"
bind "F5" "savegame quick"
bind "F6" "_impulse20"
bind "F7" "_impulse22"
bind "F9" "loadgame quick"
bind "F12" "screenshot"
bind "MOUSE1" "_attack"
bind "MOUSE2" "_moveup"
bind "MOUSE3" "_zoom"
bind "MWHEELDOWN" "_impulse14"
bind "MWHEELUP" "_impulse15"
seta radiant_entityMode "0"
seta gui_mediumFontLimit "0.60"
seta gui_smallFontLimit "0.30"
seta net_socksPassword ""
seta net_socksUsername ""
seta net_socksPort "1080"
seta net_socksServer ""
seta net_socksEnabled "0"
seta win_ypos "22"
seta win_xpos "3"
seta sys_lang "english"
seta s_decompressionLimit "6"
seta s_useEAXReverb "0"
seta s_useOpenAL "0"
seta s_libOpenAL "openal32.dll"
seta s_numberOfSpeakers "2"
seta s_doorDistanceAdd "150"
seta s_globalFraction "0.8"
seta s_subFraction "0.75"
seta s_playDefaultSound "1"
seta s_volume_dB "0"
seta s_meterTopTime "2000"
seta s_reverse "0"
seta s_spatializationDecay "2"
seta s_maxSoundsPerShader "0"
seta r_debugArrowStep "120"
seta r_debugLineWidth "1"
seta r_debugLineDepthTest "0"
seta r_cgFragmentProfile "best"
seta r_cgVertexProfile "best"
seta r_forceLoadImages "0"
seta r_shadows "1"
seta r_skipBump "0"
seta r_skipSpecular "0"
seta r_skipNewAmbient "0"
seta r_renderer "best"
seta r_brightness "1"
seta r_gamma "1"
seta r_swapInterval "0"
seta r_useIndexBuffers "0"
seta r_customHeight "486"
seta r_customWidth "720"
seta r_fullscreen "1"
seta r_mode "4"
seta r_multiSamples "0"
seta image_downSizeLimit "256"
seta image_ignoreHighQuality "0"
seta image_downSizeBumpLimit "256"
seta image_downSizeSpecularLimit "64"
seta image_downSizeBump "0"
seta image_downSizeSpecular "0"
seta image_useCache "0"
seta image_cacheMegs "20"
seta image_cacheMinK "200"
seta image_usePrecompressedTextures "1"
seta image_useNormalCompression "0"
seta image_useAllFormats "1"
seta image_useCompression "1"
seta image_preload "1"
seta image_roundDown "1"
seta image_forceDownSize "0"
seta image_downSize "0"
seta image_lodbias "0"
seta image_anisotropy "8"
seta image_filter "GL_LINEAR_MIPMAP_LINEAR"
seta gui_filter_game "0"
seta gui_filter_idle "0"
seta gui_filter_gameType "0"
seta gui_filter_players "0"
seta gui_filter_password "0"
seta net_clientDownload "1"
seta net_master4 ""
seta net_master3 ""
seta net_master2 ""
seta net_master1 ""
seta net_clientMaxRate "16000"
seta net_serverMaxClientRate "16000"
seta m_strafeSmooth "4"
seta m_smooth "1"
seta m_strafeScale "6.25"
seta m_yaw "0.022"
seta m_pitch "0.022"
seta sensitivity "5"
seta in_toggleZoom "0"
seta in_toggleCrouch "0"
seta in_toggleRun "0"
seta in_alwaysRun "0"
seta in_freeLook "1"
seta in_anglespeedkey "1.5"
seta in_pitchspeed "140"
seta in_yawspeed "140"
seta gui_configServerRate "0"
seta com_guid "YhVCL2eHKqA"
seta com_preloadDemos "0"
seta com_compressDemos "1"
seta com_product_lang_ext "1"
seta sv_punkbuster "0"
seta cl_punkbuster "0"
seta com_videoRam "1024"
seta com_showFPS "0"
seta com_purgeAll "0"
seta com_machineSpec "2"
seta g_decals "1"
seta g_projectileLights "1"
seta g_doubleVision "1"
seta g_muzzleFlash "1"
seta net_serverDlTable ""
seta net_serverDlBaseURL ""
seta net_serverDownload "0"
seta mod_validSkins "skins/characters/player/marine_mp;skins/characters/player/marine_mp_green;skins/characters/player/marine_mp_blue;skins/characters/player/marine_mp_red;skins/characters/player/marine_mp_yellow"
seta g_mapCycle "mapcycle"
seta g_voteFlags "0"
seta g_gameReviewPause "10"
seta g_countDown "10"
seta g_password ""
seta g_showBrass "1"
seta g_showProjectilePct "0"
seta g_showHud "1"
seta g_showPlayerShadow "0"
seta g_showcamerainfo "0"
seta g_healthTakeLimit "25"
seta g_healthTakeAmt "5"
seta g_healthTakeTime "5"
seta g_useDynamicProtection "1"
seta g_armorProtectionMP "0.6"
seta g_armorProtection "0.2"
seta g_damageScale "1"
seta g_nightmare "0"
seta g_bloodEffects "1"
seta r_aspectRatio "0"
seta ui_showGun "1"
seta ui_autoReload "1"
seta ui_autoSwitch "1"
seta ui_team "Red"
seta ui_skin "skins/characters/player/marine_mp"
seta ui_name "Player"
seta si_serverURL ""
seta si_spectators "1"
seta si_usePass "0"
seta si_warmup "0"
seta si_teamDamage "0"
seta si_timeLimit "10"
seta si_fragLimit "10"
seta si_maxPlayers "4"
seta si_map "game/mp/d3dm1"
seta si_gameType "singleplayer"
seta si_name "DOOM Server"
seta g_spectatorChat "0"
seta net_clientLagOMeter "1"

BloodRayne

  • Old Forum Goer
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 136
  • Karma: +13/-0
  • Doom Newbie
    • View Profile
    • Grimm Quest for the Gatherer's Key
Re: Wierd glitch?
« Reply #7 on: February 11, 2015, 06:18:12 PM »
Does it happen with all weapons?

abi008

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 10
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • Doom Newbie
    • View Profile
Re: Wierd glitch?
« Reply #8 on: February 11, 2015, 07:39:03 PM »
yes.

The Happy Friar

  • Happy Happy Joy Joy
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 991
  • Karma: +45/-4
  • Semi-Newbie.
    • View Profile
    • EarthQuake
Re: Wierd glitch?
« Reply #9 on: February 11, 2015, 09:16:04 PM »
I compared those file sizes to the ones in my D3 folder and they're the same except for game00.pk4, but the later ones override that anyway (slightly different).

Are you running doom3.exe w/o any shortcut?

abi008

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 10
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • Doom Newbie
    • View Profile
Re: Wierd glitch?
« Reply #10 on: February 12, 2015, 04:21:26 AM »
I'm running it with desktop shortcut, but there isn't any added parameter to it. It's really wierd.

The Happy Friar

  • Happy Happy Joy Joy
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 991
  • Karma: +45/-4
  • Semi-Newbie.
    • View Profile
    • EarthQuake
Re: Wierd glitch?
« Reply #11 on: February 12, 2015, 08:38:39 AM »
Try running from the doom3.exe.  If you've got Vista/7/8 it might ask to run it & it but it should be ok.

EDIT: show your doom3 folder, not just your base please.

abi008

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 10
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • Doom Newbie
    • View Profile
Re: Wierd glitch?
« Reply #12 on: February 12, 2015, 01:06:48 PM »
Tried disabling antivirus, installing on C disk, installing in safe mod (couldn't) and no luck...
Well, it's ok, don't bother  ^-^. Thanks for help!

 

BloodRayne

  • Old Forum Goer
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 136
  • Karma: +13/-0
  • Doom Newbie
    • View Profile
    • Grimm Quest for the Gatherer's Key
Re: Wierd glitch?
« Reply #13 on: February 12, 2015, 02:48:11 PM »
We can find out if something's wrong by examining the output of a console dump.
Run Doom3, run the testmap, kill a creature, then in the console type 'condump test.txt', paste the contents of the file here. :)

You can try a few other things as well:

- Rename the config.cfg file to 'config.bak' and try if the glitch still exists.
- Reset all graphics settings in your video card  by defaulting them in your graphics properties.
- If you have an ATI card, disable Catalyst AI (google on how to disable it).
- Create a shortcut to Doom3.exe and disabled desktop themes for it (long shot), run it in administrator mode, or try compatibility mode.
« Last Edit: February 12, 2015, 02:50:27 PM by BloodRayne »