Author Topic: Collision for Static Model  (Read 224 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

select

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
  • Karma: +1/-0
  • Doom Newbie
    • View Profile
Collision for Static Model
« on: January 23, 2019, 05:32:16 PM »
Hello,

I've picked up working on my doom3 mod since 5 years.. so i've gotten a bit rusty. Glad i've found this forum though. Very unfortunate what happened to D3W though :-[

Anyway, i have a custom model which i need a simpler collision model for. I've checked the game files and theres .cm files for various moveable objects.
As far as i remember you had to create a brush inside the Radiant and could export it as .cm file. But everytime i try that, it doesn't do anything.

Hope anyone can help me. Thanks.

The Happy Friar

  • Happy Happy Joy Joy
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 965
  • Karma: +45/-4
  • Semi-Newbie.
    • View Profile
    • EarthQuake
Re: Collision for Static Model
« Reply #1 on: January 23, 2019, 09:53:22 PM »
just tried.  i made a cube, applied the collision texture, then selection - export - to CM.  Did't seem to matter what model format I chose, always saved as a .cm.  I had to save in to my doom 3 folder for it to save & if it added .cm for me.  opening the file they were collision model files, not ASE or LWO files.
I could export a .OBJ to my desktop but not a cm file. 

select

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
  • Karma: +1/-0
  • Doom Newbie
    • View Profile
Re: Collision for Static Model
« Reply #2 on: January 24, 2019, 04:16:22 PM »
Thank you.. exporting it to the doom3 folder worked. Interesting, that it doesnt work outside the base path.

Unfortunately i've ran into the next issue, i have an .ASE as static model and want to use it as a moveable. Therefore i need a simpler model for collision.
I've looked into the moveables .def file but i think the models from id come with a collision model built in?


Thank you for your help

The Happy Friar

  • Happy Happy Joy Joy
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 965
  • Karma: +45/-4
  • Semi-Newbie.
    • View Profile
    • EarthQuake
Re: Collision for Static Model
« Reply #3 on: January 24, 2019, 09:43:10 PM »
a quick looks leaves me clueless how they're used, but i remember using them before.  I'll have to experiment with some.

select

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
  • Karma: +1/-0
  • Doom Newbie
    • View Profile
Re: Collision for Static Model
« Reply #4 on: January 25, 2019, 01:07:24 AM »
Thank you.. your help is much appreciated.

If you open one of ids .cm files it has a header which points to the model file. Not sure if that does anything though.

silverjoel

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • Doom Newbie
    • View Profile
Re: Collision for Static Model
« Reply #5 on: January 25, 2019, 11:55:51 AM »
You can use Dark Radiant to create cm models.

http://wiki.thedarkmod.com/index.php?title=Moveables

And I believe you're correct, some Id models have the collision model in the original source.

select

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
  • Karma: +1/-0
  • Doom Newbie
    • View Profile
Re: Collision for Static Model
« Reply #6 on: January 25, 2019, 12:52:08 PM »
Thank you very much, that did the trick. It needs to be a func_clipmodel before exporting and also it must consist of only one brush afaik.

Snehk

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 57
  • Karma: +6/-0
  • Doom Newbie
    • View Profile
Re: Collision for Static Model
« Reply #7 on: January 27, 2019, 08:30:37 AM »
I make collison models in a modeling suite. First I make a first body (my complete model), then I make another body and after UV Mapping I assign collision texture to it. Next I hide the second body inside the first one and write all the Def stuff.